Cowboy Bebop – Live Action… why????

News of a live-action Cowboy Bebop movie broke around a month and a half ago. I would think that it is needless to say that I am not pleased by this fact. I think most anime/manga fans would agree that the medium does not translate well into live-action film. I’m sure there are exceptions; Death Note fans would be quick to defend the live action movie. But for the most part an anime to film adaptation is a bad idea.

A live-action film simply won’t have the same feel or style that it does in its animated form. The character designs are a big part of what anime is, and I personally don’t feel that an actor can correctly portray that design other then looking vaguely like the original and dressing like them. Video game movies pretty much are the same deal. I’m glad, for example, that Devil May Cry got an anime instead. A live action version of that would be atrocious. Also, lets not forget the fact that Hollywood takes everything we love and cheapens it into a clichéd shitstorm that alienates fans and is only aimed at making the most money.

I’m ranting though… and I haven’t even got to the point of this post yet. The Cowboy Bebop move. This one I am against even more then I would be normally. Granted, Bebop has a fairly realistic plot (no super powers, or such) but still. First and foremost, I don’t think there is any real actor out there that could play Spike. I don’t think anyone could pull it off without it being god-awful. Maybe someone like Johnny Depp? Not even close.

So imagine my disgust when the rumors of Keanu Reeves as Spike came to my attention. Really? Fucking Keanu Reeves? I feel like a part of me died inside. Thankfully, it is only a rumor and who knows if it is true. But this is pretty bad. Don’t get me wrong, he was good in The Matrix, but Reeves has no place in a Bebop movie – let along playing Spike. Also, consider the fact that with a lead like Reeves this film will clearly be even more aimed at a mainstream audience. This is where my rants above really come into play. I really hope this all gets canceled… But for fun:

Here are my predictions for the rest of the cast:

50 cent –as- Jet Black

Jessica Simpson –as- Faye Valentine

Justin Timberlake –as- Edward

Vin Diesel –as- Vicious

Kirsten Dunst –as- Julia

Oh, and Ein? you better fucking believe Ein will be CG and not a real dog.

😦

One thought on “Cowboy Bebop – Live Action… why????

Leave a Reply

