Getting a XB360? Wait..

Because you probably want to try your luck with one of these. That article is about the newest generation of Xbox 360, called “Jasper”. Sounds gay, I know, but if it is actually an improved version that won’t explode on you, then this may be the clincher for Microsoft.

I’m no M$ fan, nor do I really care for the XB360, but even the die hard Sony fanboys out there have to admit that the 360 is getting many of the ‘hot’ exclusive titles. Breaking down and getting a 360 to play some of these titles may be our only choice. If I am to buy one (still not saying I am), this looks like the model to get right now.

The most noteworthy differences with this new hardware revision are the beefed up heat sink, and a modified GPU that should produce less deadly temperatures. The article tells you how to spot one of these new motherboard setups by looking at the box before you buy it.

It’s worth noting that this new setup will be making it’s way into all 360 models, including the stripped-down $199 “Arcade” model. Finding it now among the older generation may be tricky though.

This is apparently visible externally via a hole in the packaging. You want this to say 12.1A, 14.2A is the current generation

This is apparently visible externally via a hole in the packaging. You want this to say 12.1A, as 14.2A is the current generation that goes 'splode

So I suggest, if you plan to buy a XB360, you should try to get your hands on one of these. The mythos here is that this new “Jasper” will be much less prone to failure thanks to running cooler. If that is true or not, I guess time will tell. Me? I’ll be happy with my PS3 for now.

-Dave out

2 thoughts on “Getting a XB360? Wait..

  1. I loved my PS3, until the blu-ray drive quit working. Wish it weren’t out of warranty. Now I can only play the games off the HD. Tried replacing it, but…

    Anyway, yeah… I AM thinking about getting a 360. Maybe after Christmas.

Leave a Reply

