International same-day debut of new anime series

Not sure how I missed this one. A new anime by the name of Black God (Kuro Kami) is premiering tonight in both Japan and the US. The very interesting part is that the studio dubbed the anime in Japanese and English at the same time. The series will premiere in the US, in English dubbed form, a mere eight hours after it’s premiere in Japan.

This is very intriguing to me, because the standard procedure for anime release is that it is first dubbed and released in Japanese (duh) and then later picked up by a US distributor and (English) dubbed and released here. There is generally a six month to two year wait for the latter. For them to create a series in both languages right away is a great precedent.

I don’t really know anything about the Black God manga/manhwa this series is based on, but what I read of it just now makes it sound pretty clichéd. I am, however, much more interested in this international release concept. Let’s see how the dub turns out with this technique.

For those wondering, the English version will premiere on a station called iaTV… yeah, I’ve never heard of it either. I’m sure a TV rip torrent will be out soon enough.

-Dave out

4 thoughts on “International same-day debut of new anime series

  1. FYI: a quick search of Mininova for kuro kami will get you a torrent for the first episode. One is there for each language. I would imagine someone will rip each episode as it comes out.

  2. I watched the first episode of the dubbed version. It was pretty good actually. Reminds me of Shakugan no Shana, only quite a bit more violent.

    The animation and dub are both top notch, this series seems to show promise. Hopefully we will see more simultaneous releases like this in the future.

  3. As far as I know, the second season is not licensed yet. I would imagine that Funimation will pick it up eventually.

    We could watch it subbed… but that is lame IMO, especially when I have piles of dubbed series yet to watch.

    I’m always paying attention to news for region 1 (dubbed) anime acquisitions/releases , so if I hear anything I’ll be sure to post it.

Leave a Reply

