(Not So) Important Things

So I watched the premier of Important Things with Demetri Martin on Comedy Central last night. I’ll say this: the show did not live up to my expectations. That is not necessarily a bad thing though, because I thought it was going to suck hard. Don’t get me wrong now, I like Demetri Martin’s standup, but I didn’t think he’d be able to pull off his own show. I was wrong.. sort of.

While the show was not god-awful as I expected, it certainly was not great either. The show boiled down to this, a rapid mix of material that would be in his standup (jokes, drawings, music, etc) and skit comedy all based on a general topic he gives at the beginning of the show. These formulas were followed through the entire show, going back and forth between the two.

This is probably what I liked best about the show, the fast pace. Most likely I liked this because the parts that sucked were done just as fast as anything else. I hate it when a show lingers on an un-funny or just plain stupid note relentlessly almost as if to wear you down into a pity laugh (I’m looking at you Family Guy).

Honestly, his jokes in the stand-up portions were not very good. He visibly lacked confidence and the jokes just were not up to par with his earlier work. Most of the skits were pretty stupid too. I laughed a few times pretty well, but I spend a lot of the show thinking “wow, this is just bad”.

I’d say the funniest skit was the one where he is an actor that can’t show anger (or any emotion) in the scene he’s in, but then gets really pissed off camera at the director for not being pleased with the performance. I laughed out loud when he just yelled “mother-fucker!” after the cut and threw the vase. But, that skit also dragged out a little longer then it should have despite what I have said above.

It’s sad, because the show does have potential, but I just don’t see it making it far. This is yet another attempt by Comedy Central to find another Chappelle’s Show, and it like many others is likely doomed to failure. Was it better than the atrocious Chocolate News? Hell yes. Was it all that great on it’s own merit? Not really.

I’d give the premier episode a 6.5 out of 10. It should probably be lower than that, but the show still has potential so I won’t completely write it off just yet.

-Dave out

5 thoughts on “(Not So) Important Things

  1. I watched half the repeat last night. I forgot about the diamond commercial parody, that one was fucking classic too. “Get her the we’re very deep in debt ring”

    Time Gigolo would be cool too, but what did he get? Polio in his balls or something?

  2. Third episode gets another 3. It was terrible, but saved only by the skit where the guy goes out to dinner with Galileo etc.

    Sigh, I don’t see this show lasting too much longer. It’s a shame…

Leave a Reply

