I Workout, Do my Physical Fitness……

Yes I know it’s been a long time since I have posted anything but that doesn’t make this information any less valid.  I have recently stumbled upon a different type of weight training advice that I would like to share with all of you.  Well it’s not so much advice, it’s a new study that has come out pertaining to physical fitness and muscle building.

So lets say you have never weight lifted before but you want to start.  What do you do?  You would probably either go to a gym and ask somebody or ask a friend who works out  quite a bit.  The answers would most likely look like this, ” Do X amount of weight for a set amount of reps and sets”.  What I normally do is about 70% of my one rep max (1RM) for 8-10 reps for four sets.  Sounds pretty standard give or take a rep or set and you pretty much have every other persons workout too.  Well a new study shows that you might not have too lift so heavy to get the desired muscular gains you want.

The title of the research article is,  Low-Load High Volume Resistance Exercise Stimulates Muscle Protein Synthesis More Than High-Load Low Volume Resistance Exercise in Young Men.  I think the title pretty much speaks for itself but here is the quick rundown.  The scientists set up two workout routines using leg extensions has their exercise.  One group would do 90% of their 1RM to failure for 4 sets.  The second group did 30% of their 1RM to failure for 4 sets.  Failure was considered when the subject could not do the full range of motion of the exercise anymore.  One second was taken to do the concentric portion of the rep, one second for the eccentric portion and zero seconds for a pause. Subjects were allowed to rest 3 minutes in between each set.  The results showed that the low-load high volume exercise was better at building muscle.  The scientists put it like this, ” These results suggest that low-load high volume resistance exercise is more effective in inducing acute muscle anabolism than high-load low volume or work matched resistance exercise modes”.  The big thing I take away from this is that it’s not that important that you do a set amount of reps but that you should always go to failure.  I have also been doing this type of workout for the past week.  I’ll see what happens later on down the road.

As always I recommend you read the full research article below before you take my word for it.

low-load high volume vs. high-load low volume

Skeptics Guide

Not now chief.  I’m in the zone.


3 thoughts on “I Workout, Do my Physical Fitness……

Leave a Reply

